cargo loading

Riverbob1

Expert Expediter
I'm a one-month-old Newbie driving a "B" unit for an owner through Tri-State. I'm in need of an information source that will help me sort out how to properly position freight in the truck. First time out I got zapped at a VA weigh station. Load was legal, weight-wise, but improperly positioned. :(

pellgrn

Expert Expediter
Did they tell you what was wrong with the way you loaded it? I try to keep the skid over the rear wheel wells,just enough for the forklift to get a bit on it.Was it hazmat? i assume you have e-trak or some system to keep the freight from shifting,company i am leased to does not put hazmat on vans so i do not know the requirements that well.

Riverbob1

Expert Expediter
Pelle;
Thanks for responding. My message had a typo. Truck is a "D" unit, not a "B". The load in question was pallets of paper and pretty much filled the cargo box. I was around 31K on the scales, but 1250 over on the rear axle. I need to know how to distribute the freight load, especially if it envolves pallets/skids of differing weights, etc.
RB1

ATeam

Retired Expediter
Riverbob1,

I'm surprised to learn that your carrier didn't provide the information you are requesting. It makes me wonder what the carriers expect you to know about trucking when you sign on and what kind of knowledge resources they provide. I suppose it varies from carrier to carrier. I'd be interested to hear from you and others about what carriers provide in the way of training and learning resources.

Dreamer

Administrator Emeritus
Charter Member