Broke in Texas

Stanzilla

Seasoned Expediter
Ok here is the deal. I have been driving for about 3 1/2 years all OTR with hazmat doubles and tanker. The last 2 1/2 years have been with Averitt Express and 2 months ago I transferred from OTR to local but I just cannot seem to make good money no matter how hard I work. I want to get into this but I am broke and my credit is shot due to me being broke. How can I get my hands on a good truck without loosing my shirt in a lease? I live in the Houston Texas area and I would like to run west. I have no criminal record. I have never had an accident and I have not had a moving violation in 7 years. I don't really want to drive for an O/O, I want my own truck. I just know that if I could get my hands on a good truck I could make money. The only problem is that I have nothing in the bank. I live paycheck to paycheck.

RichM

Veteran Expediter
Charter Member
With no credit,no money to put into a down payment I see no way for you to own your own truck unless you have a generous relative that is willing to purchase or finance a truck for you.

Your best bet is to find an o/o and run for him for a couple of years,be frugal ,build up your credit and save for a downpayment.

Running west for a single driver in the expediting industry is not very feasible due to the HOS rules and the 14 hour clock rule.Expediting is what it is,generally most trips require a straight through trip from the pick up location to the delivery. You would do much better running in the midwest and the east as the distance between the major cities in the west would prevent you from getting most trips. Hope this isn't too pessamistic, you can succeed with some determination.

Question,I know a driver who runs Cracker Barrel trips for Avertt and is quite happy and making decent money.He is on the road 4 days a week and home for 3. Maybe you should rexamine Avertt and try to bid on some dedicated trips then build up your credit and finances.

Stanzilla