Big Truck Advice for newbies....

Nichole

New Recruit
Researching
My husband and I have been rrsearching expedieting for about 6 months now, he currently drives a 26 foot box truck that does.not reauire cdl. Even though he was a.cdl a driver otr before we now would.like to do team driving. We recently ran across a company that do hire.non cdl.drivers for otr deliveries in a straight truck with a sleeper. We where told our pay would be between 800.00 and 1200.00 per sriver per week. We are really considering this oppurtunity to gain experience will we o tain our cdl b license. Carriet will be covering all expenses with the truck so all we will do is be driving and making delivers. Does this sound like a reasonable job with us basically being independent contractors. Advice is needed.

Reactions: TeamPaul

Treadmill

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
My husband and I have been rrsearching expedieting for about 6 months now, he currently drives a 26 foot box truck that does.not reauire cdl. Even though he was a.cdl a driver otr before we now would.like to do team driving. We recently ran across a company that do hire.non cdl.drivers for otr deliveries in a straight truck with a sleeper. We where told our pay would be between 800.00 and 1200.00 per sriver per week. We are really considering this oppurtunity to gain experience will we o tain our cdl b license. Carriet will be covering all expenses with the truck so all we will do is be driving and making delivers. Does this sound like a reasonable job with us basically being independent contractors. Advice is needed.
If your husband has a current cdl a, there is no need for him to get a cdl b. The only only one that would need a cdl b would be you.

Turtle

Administrator
Staff member
Retired Expediter
Just so you know, you need a medical card to drive any vehicle over 10,000 pounds, even one that doesn't require a CDL.