12 foot high max & dock capable truck needed

dacunning

Active Expediter
I need some assistance from you experienced and smart people. I run an Electronics Recycling business in Alexandria, VA in the 22310 zip code area. Before I rented the "suspect" warehouse space, I was using a couple of the generic self storage units to put my plastic in and there was no height issue. I am just starting out and am renting trucks to ferry about 20 pallets of baled plastic @ 600 lbs each from one part of Alexandria to my warehouse also in Alexandria. I do this once a week usually on Fridays. I have rented Penske trucks locally here that are 24 and 26 feet in length but with a height of 13 ft 1 in.These are too tall for access to my warehouse which surprised me when I drove up to the warehouse in my 13 plus foot high 26 foot long Penske truck. You can only guess the quality of my language when I saw the 12 foot high clearance sign. Live and learn. Can someone help me figure out where I can rent a truck, or a service if need be, that is no higher then 12 foot and is dock height and can still haul about 8 of these 3ft hi X5ft L X 4ft wide bales? I asked the local Penske guys and they havent seen such a truck. Ideas? Thanks for the time and help. I have to figure this out before my next Friday run.

zorry

Veteran Expediter
Can't you haul them on a open flat bed ? A stake truck it's called. You may have to tarp it or obtain some straps to secure the load.

zorry

Veteran Expediter
If the load is tightly packaged sometimes a local guy with a roll back auto carrier will do something like this fairly cheaply. Especially if it moves weekly,

dacunning

Active Expediter