New to me 2013 Hino 268 - How to ensure its longevity?

3mk

New Recruit
Owner/Operator
Hi everyone,

I recently purchased a used 2013 268 with the 260HP engine (only 170K Miles) - the truck looks to be in very good shape. I dropped it off at the dealer to have a look over and the only issue they came across were failing fuel injectors (which they'll be replacing.. pretty pricey).

I was wondering if anyone has any tips for keeping the truck as reliable as possible (apart from general maintenance like oil changes).

My biggest fear is the DPF system crapping out - are there major things I should avoid doing that could mess the system up? My previous truck did not have this system so I'm new to it.

Mr. Loyalty.

Rookie Expediter
Owner/Operator
Hi everyone,

I recently purchased a used 2013 268 with the 260HP engine (only 170K Miles) - the truck looks to be in very good shape. I dropped it off at the dealer to have a look over and the only issue they came across were failing fuel injectors (which they'll be replacing.. pretty pricey).

I was wondering if anyone has any tips for keeping the truck as reliable as possible (apart from general maintenance like oil changes).

My biggest fear is the DPF system crapping out - are there major things I should avoid doing that could mess the system up? My previous truck did not have this system so I'm new to it.
Avoid idling as much as possible. Look at the hours on the engine ecm and divide those total hours into the total miles on the odometer to give you an average mpg. The lower the mpg average, the more it was idled, usually. One hour of idling used to equal 72 miles of wear and tear on the engine. At least that's what it used to be.

3mk

New Recruit
Owner/Operator
Thanks for the tip! I'll look into this once I get the truck back from the dealer (they said it's a decent truck and didn't mention any issues apart from the injectors, hopefully things stay that way).

Mr. Loyalty.

Rookie Expediter
Owner/Operator