Brokers vs Carriers for Ford Transit?

MrHopeful

Active Expediter
Researching
I have a bunch of friends who drive CDL. I'm interested in the long tall Sprinter/Transit side of things. (It just fits my situation better.) My friends use whatever boards they prefer for loads and also have built relationships with some brokers. But it seems that most people here recommend using a carrier instead of finding loads on a board.

1. For a van owner/op, is a "carrier" the same as a "dispatcher", where they find the load, bill for it, etc. for a fee (above the broker)?
2. What does it mean to "lease onto a carrier" if you own your van? (Does it mean something in addition to trucking under their authority?)
3. Are carriers recommended because they're are no good boards for sprinter loads?
4. Are the main recommended carriers still Load-1, Landstar, Panther?

And yes I understand there is a learning curve to driving, and a lot of people could make more $ elsewhere. I'm an Army vet with with a medical issue, just trying to find an opp to do something.

Thanks.

danthewolf00

Veteran Expediter
Carriers are safer for you because of 3 things
1 they understand cargovan freight
2 they are safer for pay because they chase down the pay
3 and the good carriers pay for part of the insurance.
Check out commerical insurance solutions here on eo for a price.
And yes load-1,fedex,landstar
Make sure the door sticker on the side of the driver's door says 9990gvw or your going to have to log and go thru scale houses.
Subtract your gears weight and yourself from the door stickers number and that is your carry weight.

MrHopeful

Active Expediter
Researching
I'll try to get a quote tomorrow for insurance.

I noticed some of the Ford Transits say they weigh 10364 lbs or so. Does that still qualify for the under 10K?

Also, what is the gear weight? What does that mean?

RoadTime

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
Over 10,000 is over 10,000 there is no close enough.