Nervous newbie

Nathanielwg

New Recruit
Driver
Hello I am an extremely nervous newbie and i was hoping to have a couple of questions answered. Quick back ground I am out of Houston and have had my class b cdl for about 6 years however it has been used for passenger transport up until January of this year. I decided that I wanted to give the straight truck otr experience a try so I have signed on with an owner that contracts through panther premium Logistics. I will initially be going out solo for about a month or so until my brother finishes with getting his cdl. The owner I will be working for is doing a 60/40 split with me. My question or questions are 1: is the 60/40 split good or bad? Will I make more on 60/40 split or less? 2: is solo expediting difficult to make money at? 3: I will be paid through a com data card will it be hard to get my money into my bank account from it? 4: this may sound silly but how does it work at truck stops( do you pay for a spot? Where do I wash clothes? How do I get showers?)

I am single with less than $1000 monthly expenses but I have spent the last 10 years as a teacher so this will be a big change. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Reactions: John49

Ragman

Veteran Expediter
Retired Expediter
Welcome.... 60/40 is pretty much the standard split in this industry. The party getting the 60 is responsible for paying the fuel cost. This said, they also get 100% of any fuel surcharge. Make sure you have this in your contract (you do have a contract, dont you?).

Reactions: Grizzly

TeamPaul

Expert Expediter
Researching