question about cargo insurance

Charity's Van

Expert Expediter
Owner/Operator
Hey I've been running for the same company for a few years now. I've talked with another company about working for them instead. They are asking that I buy a 100k cargo liability insurance policy with them as beneficiary. Current company I'm driving for now covers this for me. Is this an expense that I should cover to work at the new place or should they be paying that. I put in a call to my insurance agent to get a quote. What is normal cost?

Thanks

Grizzly

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
Hey I've been running for the same company for a few years now. I've talked with another company about working for them instead. They are asking that I buy a 100k cargo liability insurance policy with them as beneficiary. Current company I'm driving for now covers this for me. Is this an expense that I should cover to work at the new place or should they be paying that. I put in a call to my insurance agent to get a quote. What is normal cost?

Thanks

The cost depends on many individual factors. Translation .... there is no normal.
Also, quotes from a household auto insurance agent aren't going to be a good comparison. There's industry specific stuff they might not be aware of.
Do a search on the forum for CIS, Commercial Insurance Solutions. I've been with them for 5+ yrs ... they're awesome! imo ...

CIS - Commercial Insurance Solutions

Last edited:
Reactions: Moot

geo

Veteran Expediter
Charter Member
Retired Expediter
US Navy
I would check with OOIDA as they have good prices, if you can buy it thru company that is good.
Fedecc and Ceva, had a good program, and they would take it out each week that is how I did it

Grizzly

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
1500 per year for 100k cargo, something around that number.
What type of vehicle? Year, make & model?
Unlimited radius?
Driving history?
What state do you live in?

As mentioned lots of factors ... difficult to toss #s around ..