2011 Hino 268, regen but no heat

Smith772

Active Expediter
Mechanic
I have a 2011 Hino 268 that will regen by pressing the manual button on the dash but no heat. It will regen for hours but the muffler isn't getting any hotter than normal. I have a dtc, P141F (burner malfunction). Tried a few things but don't really know what to look for. We removed the burner injector and it was pretty gunked up along with the igniters. Cleaned them and reinstalled and did a regen but all the same, loosened the lined that connects to the injector and its not getting any diesel during regen for some reason. Any thoughts, I'm new to Hino's and don't really know where to go from here. Any help is greatly appreciated.
Scott

Last edited by a moderator:

greasytshirt

Staff member
Mechanic
Hi Scott.

This system is going to be very difficult to diagnose without Hino DX software.

Think of this system like a big Reddy heater. There's an atomizer which mixes air and fuel, injecting it into the burner through the nozzle. There are two spark plugs. There's also a combustion air valve that allows air to flow in from the turbocharger outlet. Also throw in some temp sensors.

What's happening is that it'll attempt to light a flame, but it does not detect an increase in temperature, so it'll stop injecting fuel and the igniters will have spark sent to them to try to clean the tips off. After several minutes of that it'll try again.
Multiple things could be wrong. There could be a fault in the flame temp sensor. The combustion air valve could be stuck. The atomizer nozzle could be clogged. The mantle inside the burner could be broken.

How many miles does the truck have on it? If over 150k, replace the nozzle, both igniters, the flame temp sensor, the burner fuel filter, the crankcase breather filter. Take the big braided hose off of the front of the burner and clean out the passages very thoroughly.