What Is My Title?

gargamel

New Recruit
Driver
I am new to expediting. I recently accepted a 1099 offer to drive a Sprinter. The owner of said Sprinter pays for fuel, tolls, maintenance, etc.

That said, what is my official title/role? Is he (owner) considered the carrier in this case?

Ragman

Veteran Expediter
Retired Expediter
That said, what is my official title/role?
You are an independent contractor, contracted to operate the vehicle for him. You do have a contract, dont you?
Is he (owner) considered the carrier in this case?
He could be, but not necessary. Does he find the load? Is he leased to another company?
Several factors are involved.

gargamel

New Recruit
Driver
At this time we do not have a contract in place, no. Rather, a firm handshake.

He, a veteran of expediting, will find the loads, yes. He will in fact do all the things I wouldn't want to do. I will drive, only. We will work in symbiotic harmony to corral the coin.

I do not believe he is leased to another company, but this is not something I even considered. Can you elaborate on this please?

Shotcallerj touched on the topic, here: How do Expeditors get paid as contractors LEGALLY???

As not to get too far off topic, I will perhaps create a different thread addressing the pros and cons of a contract.

Is it then safe to say, for now, that the family tree is:

Company
|
Broker
|
Dispatch
|
Carrier (owner of vehicle)
|
Contractor w/out a contract (me)

Ragman

Veteran Expediter
Retired Expediter
At this time we do not have a contract in place, no. Rather, a firm handshake.

He, a veteran of expediting, will find the loads, yes. He will in fact do all the things I wouldn't want to do. I will drive, only. We will work in symbiotic harmony to corral the coin.

I do not believe he is leased to another company, but this is not something I even considered. Can you elaborate on this please?

Shotcallerj touched on the topic, here: How do Expeditors get paid as contractors LEGALLY???