Vehicle Depreciation

Falligator

Expert Expediter
Ok, how does one go about getting the vehicle's depreciation. I have a 2007 Ford E 350 with 143,000 on it. Also on another subject, does the government reimburse you for all those little bank (comdata charges) and how much does the government reimburse you on a cell phone? (My company requires me to have one.) thanks.

greg334

Veteran Expediter
Ok, how does one go about getting the vehicle's depreciation. I have a 2007 Ford E 350 with 143,000 on it. Also on another subject, does the government reimburse you for all those little bank (comdata charges) and how much does the government reimburse you on a cell phone? (My company requires me to have one.) thanks.

er... the government does not reimburse you for anything, the fees from comdata and in my case overdrafts are deductions, the cell phone if it is used 100% for your work can be deducted but I am not a tax lawyer or an accountant, so your accountant should be doing all that for you.

Vehicle Depreciation, I like the idea of.... never mind, not the place to say it.

Fkatz

Veteran Expediter
Charter Member
Vehicle Depreciation

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

HI,

Depreciation is done two ways, you can take only one of them.

Since you are in a cargo van, you are able to take the standard mileage deduction is the total of the miles you put on each time you leave and return to your main home., But if you use your vehicle in any way for personal use, that percentage can not be taken,
your example is $143,000 miles, So you would have to take off 15-20% of the miles off and the balance is taken as a deduction times the mileage rate. it depends how it is entered in the tax software that you use. YOU CANNOT USE FUEL, INSURANCE, REPAIRS, TIRES, OR ANYTHING ELSE WHEN MILEAGE IS TAKEN PERTAINING TO THE VEHICLE,
but the other items that you spend on are deductible

The other is actual expenses on the vehicle