Silently observing..

flatbedin

Seasoned Expediter
I have been observing for some time reading the posts and trying learn as much as possible.

To give everyone some background information, I am a certified Industrial Electrician. I currently work as a Maintenance Manager for a company locally, and have spent the last 8 years in management. I am very young, and very motivated. However the I have found myself getting to the point that I do not look forward to going to work anymore... The pay is great, but the job itself is just not cutting it anymore.

I have been running the numbers for some time with every available operating cost imaginable. The numbers do not look bad. I realize that I will be losing home time, however dollar and cents wise, I won't be loosing that much, and the major thing is that I will be gaining a lot less stress, and more freedom..

Question 1. Living in Fort Wayne, In what type of hometime should I really consider?

Question 2. I am averaging my mpg at 9 to be safe, but what trucks get the best fuel milage, and hold their value longer?

Question 3. How long will it normally take "proving" wise before my dispatchers with make sure that I am taken "care" of..

Thank you for any information that you can offer.

X1_SRH

Expert Expediter
Flatbed'n, Welcome to EO.

1. 9mpg is a great estimate, although I believe that a straight truck should get at least 10 MPG, and I would try whatever it takes to make that happen. Some additives and a smooth foot on the go-pedal make a huge difference. The finest of the fine lines between profit and loss in many situations land sqarely on MPG in my opinion.