relocation, where to?

NB Trucker

Expert Expediter
Are there any 'better' areas to live for expedited freight? I work in the OTR industry currently in management, but am looking down the road a couple of years, where I won't want to be in the office forever. My fiancee and I would like to relocate preferably in the southeast, but really, it will be somewhere 'warmer' than Central NY. Are there freight 'lanes' which have more loads available?

jimbo van

Expert Expediter
No way.Charlotte,North Carlina - Are you serious?I thought IL MI Chicago all the surounding states was the place to be.I would love to run out of N.C. Very nice area.May I ask what kind of frieght?And very important- with what company??Thanks Jimbo

DocRushing

Expert Expediter
Middle Tennessee -- near Nashville -- in a surrounding county -- because real estate in Nashville is very expensive.
Or many parts of Ohio or Indiana -- outside the major cities.
Or southern or central Michigan -- outside Detroit.
There are many very desirable towns in all those areas, and all those areas offer much expedited cargo.
Keep us posted on your plans.
Doc.

Tennesseahawk

Veteran Expediter
I'm looking at Johnson City, myself, because of the mountains (though it's only just east of Knoxville). But a great place would be the Knoxville area as I-75 and I-40 run thru, and it's a major corridor for freight. I like Chattanooga also, as it's right smack in the middle of Knoxville and Atlanta. Anything east of there is getting out of the "middle" of the zone for most companies, and west of that is over the Mississippi River which is not the greatest for expedited freight. Another good place would be Lexington, KY. Major hubs all the way around it... Louisville, Knoxville, Cincinnati. Louisville is good as you have Cinci, Nashville, and Indianapolis close by... but in my opinion, it's not close enough to the I-75 corridor. Cinci is another good one if you don't mind coming that far north... although the traffic stinks :p