Really?????

Lucy B

Seasoned Expediter
So, here's a business proposition....Put yourself on the hook for $200,00 plus for a truck and risk being thrown off the team if you get a ticket for DRIVING WITHOUT A SEATBELT!!!!! Who could resist?

zorry

Veteran Expediter
I don't blame them, they need to get that under control.

I actually laughed at it. For years people would get pulled over and bargain it down to a seatbelt.
I actually wondered if that is why we have so many seatbelt violations.

And I wondered how many people not paying attention we still ASK for a seatbelt ticket.

zorry

Veteran Expediter
As a union driver I refused to drive a truck with a seatbelt issue.
It had a belt but I was irritated that the company was making no effort to correct whatever it was that bothered me.
As I walked to punchout, motorcycle helmet in hand, the dispatcher came to discuss things one more time.
When he asked "Do you wear a seatbelt on the scooter ?" he had me.
I said I would drive the truck today if repairs were scheduled tomorrow
Another union negotiation where everyone walked away happy. .

Note: I had finished my scheduled shift and was asked to drive the spare truck on OT.
I was willing to miss the OT to make a point. A spare truck needs to be as safe/ legal as my assigned truck.

Last edited:

ihamner

Expert Expediter
Zorry, I think you missed the point Lucy was trying to make. It isn't that the company needs to "get this under control." It is that they are completely removing drivers from the company for targeted things they determined to be more serious or controlled than other things. So, not only does a driver get points off his/her CDL for a ticket but also they are no longer able to drive for FDCC. Once you are out for a year you might as well go to work for Starbucks or something.