opinions on kw T300

davekc

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Fleet Owner
is this a truck that one would recommend? It is a 99 with a cat engine with only 50,000 miles. Want to get a year or two out
of it. thanks

Wild Bill

Veteran Expediter
Charter Member
Retired Expediter
The Kenworth is a great truck! I have been driving one for nearly 2 years now and I have few complaints. I drive a 96 with 420,000 miles on it and it runs like a champ.

Only thing I can say is if that Cat engine is a 3176 RUN!!! Everyone I have know who had one (Myself included) have had nothing but problems with them. They won't pull a hill empty, and they are constantly breaking down. I would think twice before even using it as a boat anchor.

Find one with the Cummins engine and you will have a winner. Talk to Jeff Jones at the Fort Wayne truck center in Fort Wayne. Last time I was there he had a few used ones. Or you can check them out at http://www.fortwaynetruckcenter.com

Good luck

davekc

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Fleet Owner
thanks for the info. Test drove it and it went about 75mph tops. Didn't seem to drag on the hills either. Still concerned with cat engines but it is dirt cheap with 50000 on it. One of those tough calls.

Wild Bill

Veteran Expediter
Charter Member
Retired Expediter
Sounds familar, My Cat would do over 75 mph on flat land (Western states only, I would never speed }> :+ ) Could be a great deal or the mostly costly mistake ever devised since the institution on marriage :+

Weave

Veteran Expediter
Charter Member
How many times do I have to say stay away from CAT 3126's??
The HEUI CAT's blow, big time..they cannot be rebuilt and cost upwards of $14,000 to replace.

davekc

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Fleet Owner