It's been real folks!

Frank

Expert Expediter
I have been expediting now for just over three months. I have a new Savana Gmc cargo van that had just over 500 miles on it when I started. At this moment I now have just over 26,000 miles on it and have grossed a whopping 7,000. Sad isn't it. I now have to go get a big truck again and play catch up with my bills. I'll just relegate the Van to family use I guess. I definitly had fun. Ever heard the term "To good to be true" ? thats me and I mean that in a nice way to. They did keep me busy but it is the deadheading that killed me. Looks like Detroit to Chicago and back is on my agenda now. You folks have a good one.
Signing out for now. Frank Betts. ;-)

teacel

Veteran Expediter
Charter Member
HI Frank,
I'm sure you know that three months isn't really enough time to evaluate a new career move. Good things take time. "Yha I know you have bills and all", but you knew going into this career move it wouldn't be easy. Most of the advice people give on the site is to have atleast three months of backup money to get you by. I do admit the $7000 in the last three months could have been better. ,but alot of things play a part in the money and the runs you get.

Only you can control the deadhead miles. There is always going to be some deadheading involved, but you may need to learn the tricks of the trade. Sometimes the company that you work for will pay deadhead miles or a part of them, depending where it is they send you. Then to maybe you could've repositioned yourself and relocated to a better area, once you learn the busyest lanes it is easier to cut down on the deadheading.

Only you know what is best for you, and you have to do that. Sorry to here things didn't work out with the van, but at least you'll still be in the tranportation feild and going back to your big truck. Hope you keep coming back to the site and giving us your help, and sharing some of your experiences with us. Good Luck!

Xpediter

Veteran Expediter