How bad is US160 from Cortez CO east to I-25?

WanderngFool

Active Expediter
I've been wanting to get out west since I started doing this and I finally got the right load. Minnesota to Pueblo for good $. As luck would have it, my best bet to get out of here with shirt intact was booking a load from Cortez, CO (sw corner of the state) that was heading east.

So tomorrow I'm doing US-160 from Walsenburg, CO to Cortez, CO and back again in a 24' straight truck with air brakes. I know not to ride the brakes going downhill and all that, and I've got a few years experience with air brakes. But compared to terrain I'm familiar with like hilly bits in Pennsylvania and the occasional jaunt across I-40 into NC, how much of an adventure am I in for? What's the pucker factor on a scale of 1 star to 5? :)

paullud

Veteran Expediter
It is a nice easy ride that I have taken a couple of times. The pucker factor was a 1 or 2 no real issues any driver with a little experience couldn't handle. FYI Be prepared for that scale in Cortez to be open.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using EO Forums mobile app

WanderngFool

Active Expediter
It is a nice easy ride that I have taken a couple of times. The pucker factor was a 1 or 2 no real issues any driver with a little experience couldn't handle. FYI Be prepared for that scale in Cortez to be open.

Music to my ears. Thanks!

WanderngFool

Active Expediter
Now that I've done it and am now a bonafide mountainman... :) For anyone else making the trip, maybe my insight will be useful.

As you leave Walsenburg you start climbing almost right away on your way up to La Veta Pass (9,400 ft). Then you drop down onto a plateau (7,500 ft +/-), but they call it a valley, the San Luiz valley. This goes on for maybe 80 miles. It's not much different from crossing Ohio really but there's more to look at and if you're not used to the elevation you might not be feeling real well.