Does it pay to be a single driver?

HoboOfTheHwy

Expert Expediter
I would like to know if I would make it in the expediting business, as far as being a single driver,with a straight truck?My wife got her permit to drive, but she has made up her mind not to go otr,among other problems. I know the bad drawback is short loads,because of the 10 hour drive time.I am a company driver now,but looking to get out on the road with a straight truck,vice driving 18 wheeler which I do now.The good thing I want to move to Ohio next year,where most of the companies are.Can someone tell me what i should do, and tell me what companies hire single drivers for straight trucks? If need be,Ill settle for a cargo van. Thanks

Not Happy In Florida:-(

Weave

Veteran Expediter
Charter Member
Just about all the straight trucks you see on the highway doing OTR expediting are independently owned, by either an owner/operator or a fleet owner. They are leased to the respective companies labeled on the truck, and are not owned by those companies. So, if you want to get into a straight truck without owning it and do expediting, you will need to find a fleet owner to drive for. The EO classifieds are a good place to look for a driving opportunity. The pay and whatnot varies as you will work this out with the truck (or van) owner.
Can you make a living doing expediting solo? Yes, as I have been for the past 3 years. I do, however, own my truck and manage my own business. If I were only making a 30% cut as a driver for someone else though, I would not be making it or would really have to bust my butt to make it. I average about 1500 miles a week running solo, but all the truck revenue is mine as the owner. I subtract all my running expenses from this, and that's my pay. No, I don't make a fortune. Anyone who does expediting and tells you they do is a liar.