contracts with drivers

homeless andy

Expert Expediter
Do any of the o/o's or fleet owners posting here have a contract made up to clarify who is responsible for what? Is there a standard form that most of you use? I am a driver preparing to sign on with an o/o and want to make sure everything is understood before I get on the road. Can you give me some ideas of what to include in a contract if the o/o I'm going with does not have one already? Should this be notarized or written up by an attorney? Any help will be greatly appreciated.

tr

Veteran Expediter
Charter Member
If it were me, I would not enjoin in any enterprise with another
party without a written contract. I'm confident that I speak for the majority of other buisness minded individuals. In my opinion you should have a written contact laying out all the details regardless how minor. That way if there is any dispute both parties will have acknowledged that they are in agreement. There's an old saying in the government, if it is not on paper--it didn't happen. Also think back if you know any families who have split up, the same for friends.
Many think that a business adventure with a family member or friend does not require anything other than a verbal agreement and in some cases this has and will continue to work well, but not all cases. It starts off well then something goes wrong, one party is claiming one thing and the other is claiming the opposite. A contract spells it out. Good luck.

Wild Bill

Veteran Expediter
Charter Member
Retired Expediter
Andy,

I agree with TR wholeheartedly. I have known too many owners AND drivers who was screwed by each other using the verbal contract method.

My current owner went to an local attorney and had an agreement written. I believe it cost him $75.00 a lot less than court proceedings at a later date.

A written agreement keeps everyone on the square. Each sides responsibilites are spelled out in writing. There is no gray area to deal with.

Hope it helps

Bill