Any companies offer group medical insurance for fleet driver to buy into?

carmi777

Seasoned Expediter
Hey guys, I'm a current local truck driver (3 years) in Chicago area w/ hazmat, passport card for border crossings, and clean record, single so no home-time issues. I'm looking for companies that need solo straight truck drivers (would be open to van under right circumstances - purchase assistance, payment take over, etc....).

Prefer company that has a healthy freight load for solos,

good reputation for company as well as fleet owners

A truck that is in good shape, has APU, and comfortable enough for long stretches on road since I have no real home-time issues.

obviously good rates, but a company you enjoy working with/driving for beats out money (then again depends how much you are giving up)

Ideally good group health insurance for independent driver to buy into (real medical not the supplemental type like AFLAC).

I'm trying to save up to buy good van/truck outright, spec out the van, have operating capital, emergency fund, as well as funds to live on for short term so don't want to lose all my savings to one unforeseen medical event (#1 way people lose everything and go into bankruptcy).

Looking to start driving after Easter - beginning of May. Want to use April to find right company/owner/truck as well as prep for life on the road. Thanks.

pjjjjj

Veteran Expediter
-I'm looking for companies that need solo straight truck drivers (would be open to van under right circumstances - purchase assistance, payment take over, etc....).

-Prefer company that has a healthy freight load for solos,

-good reputation for company
-as well as fleet owners

-A truck that is in good shape,
-has APU, and
-comfortable enough for long stretches on road since I have no real home-time issues.

-obviously good rates, but a company you enjoy working with/driving for beats out money (then again depends how much you are giving up)