Overflow from other Carriers

Fisherman

Active Expediter
Driver
Hello

I have been expediting for about 7 months with a small company that has about 15 vans. I notice that most of the loads I run have a different company name on the invoice. Usually a large carrier like XPO or Panther or something like that. I realize that this is overflow work that these large carriers give to us when they don't have enough drivers available.

My question is, am I better off working for one of these large carriers than I am with this current small company? Because my thought is that I'm just sort of picking up the cheap scraps. Am I wrong in assuming that my current situation is providing me with less loads at a lower rate?

ntimevan

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
Where does Your Current Carrier get Loads from if there are No Scrap loads ? If they have No Customers of their own , what happens when the Scraps from other Companies dries up . Just my thoughts..

" LOAD 1 "

Fisherman

Active Expediter
Driver
Where does Your Current Carrier get Loads from if there are No Scrap loads ? If they have No Customers of their own , what happens when the Scraps from other Companies dries up . Just my thoughts..

" LOAD 1 "

Well, I usually just sit and wait when that happens.

Don't get me wrong, we do have some of our own customers. But I would say that about 80% of the loads I take are overflow from large carriers.

Grizzly

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
If you are making an exceptable amount of money, why change?

The grass isn't greener.........

I think he's wondering if he can make more money? It's a fair question ...

At this point, I think your best bet is still with a large carrier. There could be opportunities with smaller companies but it has to be the right set of circumstance ... and you have to be really savvy.

Last edited:

Solar

Expert Expediter
Owner/Operator