New to the game

TheCourier

New Recruit
Owner/Operator
I've been doing local courier work for some time now. However, I'd like to get into expediting. I have a 2017 ProMaster and I'm looking for a broker as opposed to leasing on to a company. Where is a good place to look for one? I'm from Philadelphia, Pa.

Ragman

Veteran Expediter
Retired Expediter
I've been doing local courier work for some time now. However, I'd like to get into expediting. I have a 2017 ProMaster and I'm looking for a broker as opposed to leasing on to a company. Where is a good place to look for one? I'm from Philadelphia, Pa.
Why do you want to use a broker instead of leasing on to a company?

Solar

Expert Expediter
Owner/Operator
Why do you want to use a broker instead of leasing on to a company?

Yea, the second I read not wanting to lease on to a company, I just passed on by.

Some companies make you sign these year long terms, but Fusion doesn’t do that. If you’re afraid of long term commitment, that is.

TheCourier

New Recruit
Owner/Operator
Well, to me it seems that the payout from a broker is straight forward. You run the load and get paid. Like hapearce 1 said, these companies want you to jump through a ton of hoops (sign long term contracts, only run for them, lose a ton of money in nonsense deductions, etc.). I'm an independent contractor and I need to maximize MY profits, not theirs. So if I get a few good brokers, I can get on the road, make my money, then come home and do local runs until something that benefits me comes up. I'm not staying on the road for 3 weeks (which seems to be what everyone wants right now) for .78 a mile plus FSC. That's less than what i make now and I get to go home every night. So for me, the broker option seems to be a no brainer.

brokcanadian

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
Put that way, it does seem like a no brainer doesn't it.

Pick up the phone and call some brokers near you, I'd be interested to hear how it goes

Reactions: Solar

Grizzly