Cargo Van G3 Transfer Corp. New Driver

John Garrett

New Recruit
Owner/Operator
Hi everyone great to be on a this site. I am a retired Project Manager that has decided not to sit at a desk for the rest of my working years so I purchased a Ford Transit 250 cargo van and started an S Corp. I have a great driving record but no experience in the trucking business other than what my Brother has taught me (he is a big rig driver). I got my first work yesterday coordinating 2 loads through UShip from San Diego area to LA. Pay was ok but the deadhead home on Friday in LA traffic sucked. I have a few questions:
- Should I think about leasing on with a large expediter and does anyone know of a good one for Cargo Vans in the West?
- Cargo Van work seems to be hard to find any suggestions?
- Noticed that insurance for a Cargo Van that is not sure exactly what the load will be each time seems to be expensive. Got insurance through Progressive with cargo coverage up to 25K. How does this sound to you all?
Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Grizzly

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
Question: before purchasing the van, setting up the s corp & setting up the website did these thoughts ever come to mind:

How will I acquire business? Where will the freight come from?
Insurance needs/cost?
Van landscape? What are the current market conditions?

What advice did you get from your brother?

Did you do any reading on this site prior to jumping into this endeavor?

It appears that the cart is before the horse ..

Reactions: FlyingVan

John Garrett

New Recruit
Owner/Operator