Would like to run regional

Roadranger

Seasoned Expediter
Hi! I'm presently leased on to a local warehousing/delivery service and am looking for options. My truck is a mechanically restored 1995 FLD120 single axle small sleeper that was being run by the previous owner as a "Big Shot" towing a three car trailer with another on the headrack (since removed) - after blowing the rear end in his big ford pickup twice! I've been running this truck for 6 months with NO downtime and as heavy as 70k. I could run even heaver with a spread axle trailer - I'm registered for 80k. I know most (all?) large companies won't lease on something this old, and everyone seems to expect a class "E" to have a tandem axle I think? I get about 8.25mpg driving 60mph max (truck is presently governed at 66). Anyways I'd love to find an expediting (or "regular") company that could run me just within a 600 mile radius of home (junction of CT, MA, & RI). I know there is plenty of Just In Time (AKA Just Too Late <grin> ) freight coming home but getting freight out can be a wait I think? That would work out I think as I could "wait" at home? I've run 28-53 foot vans, containers and some flatbed. Yes? No? Maybe? :)

Robsdad

Seasoned Expediter
Ranger:
Most companies I have researched 10 years is a max on trucks. I think some may have older ones leased on they just have been there for many years. If you have a decent deal where you are you might want to rethink the regional thing. Just a thought. You are home much more now than you will be then. And probably make more now than then. Anyway stay safe!
robsdad

Doggie Daddy

Veteran Expediter
Something else to concider here rr.states will let you register your vehicle for whatever weight that you want,but that doesn't mean that you can legally run at that weight.

With your single axle tractor I don't believe that you can legally scale 80,000 or even 70,000 lbs.

front axle 12,000 lbs
single axle 20,000 lbs
trailer tandems 34,000 lbs