Working for yourself

rickl2000

Expert Expediter
I have been expediting since 9/2001 working for CTX, and DMX. I found CTX had more drivers than loads and it was a financial nightmare. DMX was great with runs that took you out and deadhead you back.The problem was a lack of work. I usually would only run 1 x per week which barely covered the insurance. I have a 2001 Chevy extended cargo van that is set up to hold up to 3 skids. I am considering getting my own authority and working for myself as I believe I should be able to get at least 1 run a week, hopefully more. Anyone else done this? What do I need to be aware of? Have any of you been able to get loads from different web sites on your own, like findloads.com? I appreciate any insight you have. I am a second income and my wife covers all the househould expenses. I love expediting and just need to make some money to cover my van payment, maintenence, and some retirement money.:7

Weave

Veteran Expediter
Charter Member
Welcome Rick. I don't run a van or run for CTX, but know for a fact CTX was busy last year as I did a lot of contract loads for them in my D unit.
To say expediting in general was busy last year in itself is an understatement, I am curious as to why you weren't. To be honest I don't know who DMX is, but they might not have been your best bet due to the fact I have been doing this for a long time and have not heard of them.
There are VERY, VERY few people on the EO forums with their own authority to help you, but Tony, aka Teacel, is one who does and runs a fleet of vans. I know without saying what he might tell you, but I will let him speak for himself.