Paying taxes

Roadpilot

Expert Expediter
I've been doing this for six months now and I'll ask before the taxman cometh. How do you make a quarterley tax payment to the IRS, Social Security,etc.? I've been setting money aside for taxes (around 17% of gross) since I started, but I wanted to know:

1) How do I estimate and pay my taxes now ( or should I just wait for EOY?)

2) Am I taking out enough for taxes?

3) How do the tax deductions for operating expenses figure in to taxes for filing jointly?

4) What is a "typical" penalty for paying at years end as opposed to quarterly?

I am a married, independent contractor with my own vehicle, no employees or helpers.

Roadpilot

Expert Expediter
Frank,

Thanks for the reply. My wife is still employed and this past tax year I paid taxes to no one ( I was on unemployment for the first 4 months of 2005)

Roadpilot

Expert Expediter
>
>I am a married, independent contractor with my own vehicle,
>no employees or helpers.
>
>First of all,before we go any further.
>
>1. Did you work for anyone on a full time basis and received
>a salary with taxes taken out of your pay?.
>2. Is your wife still employed?
>
My wife is still employed. I collected unemployment for the first 4 months of 2005.

>1) How do I estimate and pay my taxes now ( or should I just
>wait for EOY?)
>
>A.)IF any of the first 2 question I had for you is yes,
>Then, this year there are no estimated taxes that will be
>due unless you want to make some.
>
>2) Am I taking out enough for taxes?
>
>A.) If you are saving a certain amount every week from your
>settlement that is fine, Normally, it would only be 10% of
>the total settlemetn not counting your deductions. You
>really do not have to for this year.

Q.)For next tax year, what taxes would be due or how would things change? Taking out 10% still figure in or will the taxes change after the first year of business operation?

>
>3) How do the tax deductions for operating expenses figure