New Guy

PointMan

Expert Expediter
I am new to Expediting, but not to the transportation industry. Any helpful advice you have for me will be appreciated.

RichM

Veteran Expediter
Charter Member
Well we could talk volumes about expediting good and bad. I don't know where you live but Eo has a seminar in Knoxville TN on Feb 15 and another in Louisville KY during the MATS show. Theses seminars get provide you with just about all of the information you will need plus you can ask questions and get answers from experienced Expediters. It would be worthwhile to sign up for one of these seminars. Good Luck.

LDB

Veteran Expediter
Retired Expediter
You're question is so broad it would take volumes to answer but the best thing for starters is to read all these forums for the last several months worth of input. You'll learn a tremendous amount about expediting that way. You'll also find areas where you'll have specific questions to ask. Good luck with your research.

Leo Bricker, owner trucks 3034, 4958
OOIDA 677319
73's K5LDB
Highway Watch Participant, Truckerbuddy
EO Forum Moderator 1+ Years of Service
-----
Support the entire Constitution, not just the parts you like.

DannyD

Veteran Expediter
Like the others have mentioned, there's a lot of things to mull over by reading the things posted in that past. Since I'm guessin ya already knew ya could do that, I'll add in something current.

Other's may disagree w/ me here, but I would NOT get a Sprinter to start out in. Companies seem to like them, & I don't blame a company one bit for wanting Sprinter drivers. They can carry bigger loads for sure. However, unless they're willing to pay you more for ALL loads, not just the 3 skid loads, I wouldn't get one. I work local so I might have 4-7 runs/day. I've been there for about 3 months & there's been maybe 4 or 5 runs I couldn't have taken in an E-250. My opinion is that the extra cost of buying (and maintaining) a Sprinter is a losing proposition.