IRP

dpea9

Expert Expediter
I am going to be signing on with an expediting company so I will need an
IRP plate On the application it asks how many miles per state I will be driving. How do I know that if this is my first time? If I am way off on my miles is there a fine and penalty?
:+ :+
Dan

ITS NOT GUN CONTROL
ITS PEOPLE CONTROL

JohnMueller

Staff member
Motor Carrier Executive
Safety & Compliance
Carrier Management
Dan;

The first time you register for an IRP license plate account you will estimate miles. You can attempt to estimate those miles yourself, you can ask the carrier that you are leasing onto for a computer printout of the percentage of miles travelled in each state for their fleet, or you can use the estimated mileage chart from the state's IRP office (Ohio has a chart). If the carrier provides you a printout of percentage of miles by state then multiply each states percentage by 100,000. That would base evrything on you running 100,000 miles - which I would say is average.

If you still need assistance please pm me.

Thanks,

HotFr8Recruiter

LDB

Veteran Expediter
Retired Expediter
Texas also provides a chart giving estimates. I used that chart and the following year got audited. They just handed everything back afterward with a cya later so it's pretty accurate here.

Leo Bricker, 73's K5LDB, OOIDA Life Member 677319
Owner, Panther trucks 5508, 5509, 5641
Highway Watch Participant, Truckerbuddy
EO Forum Moderator
----------
Support the entire Constitution, not just the parts you like.

nightcreacher

Veteran Expediter