File My Own Taxes??

jhamlin

Seasoned Expediter
I've been expediting with my own Sprinter for 4 months now, and need to get going with the IRS thingy. Question: Is there a software product out there for owner-operators similar to Turbo Tax? I've kept all receipts, and record everything on Lotus (can you guess my age??). Or should I just give in and pay for professional service? Seems like I should be able to do this on my own, since I have plenty of time while waiting for loads . . .

Fkatz

Veteran Expediter
Charter Member
I understand where you are coming from, but if this is your first year and don't know what exactly to do, have a professional prepare and file them for you.
But there are specific requirement that will be requested by the professional for proof of your deductions. if the proof is not supplied then the Professional has the right to refuse to complete your return and is not responsible for inaccurate returns. and you will sign a paper holding the professional harmless of your inaccuraties. If you do not supply true and accurate receipts and you are audited, the IRS has the right to come back on the Professional and fine him $5000.00, and no taxpayer is worth that fine and a mark against the preparer, for not giving the preparer the correct information. leaving out 1099's, w-2's 1009-C, 1099 A Stock trade

# 1 will be your mileage records as a deduction. If you use this then there is a number of item that you cannot take as a deduction- insurance, repairs, fuel, taxes, etc, except for fuel tax. etc.
# 2 Repairs, there is a Percentage of the repairs that they use. I don;t know what it is.
#3 Any deduction that the IRS feels are beyond the allowable percentage.