driving school for class b cdl

dparker

Expert Expediter
Hello everyone,

I have been lurking here about 2 weeks and finally decided to post. I am currently a releif driver and I have one dedicated route I drive every friday for a full line convenience store distributor. I either drive a 12-15ft. or 22ft box truck and have been doing this for 6 months for a lousy $7 bucks an hour. I am looking into driving OTR running a box truck and not sure if I really need to go to driving school or not. I have seen with several companines that you either need 6 months experience or pass a road test with an approved school....but haven't seen anything set in stone you must be a certified driving school graduate. I have read a lot of posts here on this issue but I just don't know which way to turn. I take it you can rent a "Ryder" or "Uhual" truck for a day and test in? What if this truck doesn't have airbrakes? I went to driving school for about 2 weeks for TT and after getting hit by a semi 1/2 way through the school...TT wasn't for me. I am also very dissappointed wtih the quality of training my local school provides. They kept saying when I trained for TT.."we only help you obtain your cdl...you will learn once you get with your company and your trianer". Any input would be greatly appreciated. I will be looking at the 1st of August for driving school if that is the way I will go. On the other hand...I live in Ohio 1 hour South of I-70 and judging by the number of trucking terminals on I-70 and number of expedite companines in OH and Midwest I am positioned well. BTW I am 30 years old....1 ticket (over three years ago...illegal left turn) since I got my license at 16 years old and never ever been arrested so if anyone is looking for a driver in say 2 months here I am.

Thanks,

Dan

paperback1

Expert Expediter