Can I put this to work ?

Frenegade

Expert Expediter
Hello All,

Great forum, and lots of information to digest. I'll try to keep
this brief. I'm a former pilot for a major airline, out on long
term disability. It won't affect trucking, just flying.

I own a unique vehicle, which I'm sure many of you have seen in
your travels. It is a Renegade (brand) chassis is a Freightliner
Columbia, 25 feet of living area with a 10 foot garage/box as well
as basement storage. It was primarily designed as a motorcycle hauler, however, it has e track on the decks, and walls.

My question is, assuming I acquire proper licensing, and operating
authority.. could I put this to work ? I'm assuming, and prepared
that getting rich is not likely, but I'd like to work, and offset
some of the expenses of this beautiful new ride.

I've flown overnight cargo for Emery, UPS, and flown hundreds of
millions of miles, and understand deadlines, urgency, and safety.
I'd like to get moving. Any suggestions ?

Thanks
Tim

[email protected]

LDB

Veteran Expediter
Retired Expediter
It's a great looking rig and I'm sure the recruiters will provide detailed information for you. Thoughts that come to me are the load capacity of the unit and the loading height. With 10 feet of cargo space you would run as a C unit based on length. Generally I think that requires 5000 pound capacity. A couple of fairly big problems I think you are going to run into is lack of dolly legs and loading height. For a C unit you would have to be dock high and I doubt that unit is. You'd also need dolly legs and it looks too low for those. Without meeting those criteria I doubt carriers will accept the unit unless they did so as a van at van rates. That wouldn't be enough pay unless you chose to run mostly for the scenery etc. and minimally for the pay. Good luck to you and maybe you'll find the right carrier to make it work.

Leo
truck 4958

Support the entire Constitution, not just the parts you like.

Frenegade