Short loads are they worth it?

Bruno

Veteran Expediter
Fleet Owner
US Marines
How does your company reward you with doing short loads? I know FedEx Custom Critical rewards their driver's for taking a load under 75 miles. You get so many points for DVA which only fare because you did a short load. You can take your less than 75 as it's called at FedEx and go out of service without losing it. I just wanted to see how everyone feels about it. Is it worth it if your not rewarded? My thoughts on loads under 100 miles should not be offered to teams unless they go to the top of the board. My reason for that it's not a money maker for a team if your campany is on a flat rate.

What I mean by that is, if your at lets say a $1.10 a mile and your offered a load that is 99 miles. Why would a team want to take a load that only pays them $108.00 if there is no reward for doing that load. Really even as a single driver I wouldn't take a run like this. If the customer calls with a short load and your company can't cover it because there is no reward like being put to the top of the board for it. Why would they call your company when they have a longer load. They are not, they are going to call the company that covered the short load. Just want everyone thoughts on this.

Sparticus

Seasoned Expediter
There are many times a 99 mile load would be helpful.

Have you ever moved any of your fleet 100 miles to get
to a better freight area? No need to answer, we already know.

So let's say that a load op is delivering into Chicago area,
it pays regular contract rate + reasonable fsc. Are your driver smart enough to take it or are they too stuck on themselves, being a TEAM.

Also consider this, Anywhere, USA, 3 trucks available:
#1 Team
#2 Team
#3 Solo
Dispatch receives a call for a 100 mile opportunity,
Team 1 has dwell time of 24 hrs
Team 2 has dwell time of 12 hours
Solo 10 hours and just got hours back
Is it fair for dispatch to jump 1+2 and dispatch solo?