request an automatic?

MikeDamone

Not a Member
Researching
Hey guys, total noob here. Ive been reading through the forum for the last few weeks and im learning a lot, but I have a question that I haven't come across in my researching. Ok, kind of embarrassing, but I cant drive a stick. Well, I have a few times in a car, but im defiantly not comfortable enough with it to say I actually "know how". So, first, do you get a class B cdl from a truck school the same as you would a class A? I know a lot of straights have automatics, unlike tractors, so are people able to request automatics? Thanks.

fastman_1

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
Hey guys, total noob here. Ive been reading through the forum for the last few weeks and im learning a lot, but I have a question that I haven't come across in my researching. Ok, kind of embarrassing, but I cant drive a stick. Well, I have a few times in a car, but im defiantly not comfortable enough with it to say I actually "know how". So, first, do you get a class B cdl from a truck school the same as you would a class A? I know a lot of straights have automatics, unlike tractors, so are people able to request automatics? Thanks.
Tractors come with automatics now also, but to answer your question you get whatever class CDL by whatever truck you use for your test. At least that is in Ohio

Turtle

Administrator
Staff member
Retired Expediter
No, you don't need to go to truck driving school to get a Class B CDL. Get a learner's permit, practice driving one, pass the written test, pass the skills test. Done.

Yes, you can request automatics. A particular fleet owner may or may not have one needing a driver. Rather than looking at it as requesting automatics, just tell a prospective fleet owner your qualifications and he'll know if he can use you. Or, bring your own truck and you won't have to deal with those people.

Reactions: TDave and neilblack

MikeDamone

Not a Member
Researching