Paris And Britany

barney

Expert Expediter
Ok, I admit it, I am old and not in touch with the youth of today. Here is the question. What are Paris Hilton and Britany Spears claim to fame and why do we have to hear about them all the time. I admit Britany is a cutie but I think it takes more than that.

dcalien

Seasoned Expediter
I am no expert on these two. If you know nothing about them, I will tell you what little I know.

Britney is a pop singer, and does a lot of outrageous kind of things in public, so I guess a lot of people just like to look at her dirty laundry.

Paris is or was heir to the Hilton hotel family. She in the past at least liked to party a lot, and so the paparazzi follow her endlessly. She also has a line of clothing.

I think her main claim to fame is being a Hilton.

cheri1122

Veteran Expediter
Driver
Why do we have to hear about them all the time? Well, because the folks who keep telling us about them, "the media", say it's because it's what the people want - and the magazines certainly do sell, no argument there.
If the people really do want to read about the lives of celebrities, why? Is it just distraction, the way movie attendance jumped during the depression? If so, I personally find no comfort whatsoever in reading about the lives of the wealthy and spoiled few. It's like going window shopping, without any money: not much pleasure in it, for me.
Maybe, though, it's just the tendency of folks to accept what's presented, like the daily "news" broadcasts, without thinking about it, whether it's important, or even relevant. Television was the beginning of the hypnotic tendency to "be entertained" for more than the duration of a movie, or book, to sit passively and just watch, without discrimination. Except to change the channel, and watch something else, of course.