Padlocks

slfisher45

Expert Expediter
There have been a few posts on this issue. I used to have problems with the locks freezing or the tumblers would get contaminated with grit and it was always a big inconvenience at the consignee.
The following works well for me and with discipline it can work for you.
When the truck is rolling the padlock hangs on the document pocket on the door next to the driver.
I only lock the box when I leave the truck unattended or if I am taking a nap. As a solo driver that is nescessary.
I have been doing this for six months and no lock failures. The lock still looks new.
I take the lock off on my pre-trip inspection and lock it when I walk away from the truck with no inconvenience.
This lock failure is a bigger issue in the colder months but the tumblers do get grit in them from exposure, regardless of the weather.

redytrk

Veteran Expediter
Charter Member
>This lock failure is a bigger issue in the colder months but the >>tumblers do get grit in them from exposure, regardless of the weather.

>Fish

Th grit is salt and road chemicals. To get rid of it simply soak the lock in boiling hot water,hang it up to dry. I always keep two locks keyed alike. One is always ready to go into service when the other loads up.

Moot

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
Also a quality lock such as an Abloy with a rubber boot works well. Periodic flushing with WD-40 and a shot of liquid graphite once a year will keep it clean and working properly.

LDB

Veteran Expediter
Retired Expediter
I had similar "opportunities" with padlocks until I bought Master locks with the body and hasp encased in vinyl and a cover that snaps over the lock cylinder. Now the outside may get dirty but the lock is as clean as the day I bought it. I have a set of 3 keyed alike and use one on liftgate controls, one on the right door and one in reserve or for the left door if I really want to Fort Knox the box.

Leo Bricker, 73's K5LDB, OOIDA Life Member 677319