Kenworth T-300 / Cummins 8.3 L ??

david11

Expert Expediter
I'm confused but I know I want a class 7 truck so I can stay at
26,000 GVW. I think I'll go out on a limb and leave Freightliner/Cat
to try a new KW T300 with an 8.3 L Cummins. I would like to try the automatic transmission the dealers are bragging about but I'm not sure. Dealers say the automatic gets better fuel mileage and has a higher resale. Does anyone recommend any dealer options for over-the-road? I'm a local driver and have never been over-the-road. Thank you in advance for any comments. :)

Weave

Veteran Expediter
Charter Member
Which automatic trans are you referring to? If it's the Allison, it does have slightly higher resale over the synchro standards, but will not give better fuel mileage- will be about 1-2 MPG less.
The T300 with ISC and auto is going to be a heavy chassis setup, and you will not have much cargo weight capacity if you only set it up and register it for under 26000.
Are you planning to go over the road with it? If so, you'll want to set the truck up for at least 33000 gross to get the most out of it. You'll have to go through the IRP and all that jazz, but spec'ing that chassis for under 26000 will give you a legal cargo capacity of only about 6k lbs, making the truck somewhat useless.
-Weave-

davekc

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Fleet Owner
The above is correct. If you want to maximize your potential with this set up, the truck must be rated at 33,000. Not that great of capacity at 26,000. We have a T300 and it is rated at 33,000. We have a larger sleeper but can haul 11,500. Sometimes 12,000 if we can get the weight situated correctly.

david11

Expert Expediter
Thank you Weave and DaveKC. You have prevented me from
making a serious mistake. Today I rented a brand new Paccar Lease