Company Driver

Moot

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
Will you be running solo? I was a company expedite driver for all of 1997 and part of 1998 driving a company owned van or short leased straight truck. I was paid .25/mile driving a van and .30/mile driving a straight truck. Neither were equipped with sleepers. I got reimbursed for motels and $15 per diem.

That was then and I don't know what a decent rate for a company driver is today. There isn't a whole lot of expedite jobs driving a company/private owned vehicle paying flat mileage. You have to figure out for yourself if .30cpm is a good rate. Probably the only way to find out is to do it for six month and see where you are at financially.

Reactions: brokcanadian

guardsman2016

Rookie Expediter
Driver
Yes I will be running solo. It has a sleeper so they wont pay for hotels. I will be 1099 but still driving a company truck and using the company fuel card.

Ragman

Veteran Expediter
Retired Expediter
Yes I will be running solo. It has a sleeper so they wont pay for hotels. I will be 1099 but still driving a company truck and using the company fuel card.
So you're basically an employee. I would run from that 1099 crap. Going 1099 relieves them of any workman's comp issues and other payroll responsibilities.

Reactions: fastman_1

fastman_1

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
From what I have seen most expedited companies 1099 all drivers.

They 1099 all owner/ops you will be driving for a fleet owner. Paying per mile and using a company gas card, making you and employee, so paying you and giving you a 1099 is illegal.

Sent from my iPhone using EO Forums

Reactions: Moot

Moot

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator