Alumi Bunk Setup

trhoades

Expert Expediter
I just bought an E-350 Super cargo van. I went to alumi bunk to see about setting up my van, but they want $6000 to set up my van. I figure after materials, I can probably set it up myself for well under $1000. Problem is, I am a little lost on what to use to fasten everything down to the van. If someone could give me some pointers, it would be much appreciated. Also, if someone has the alumi bunk setup, could you post some pics? Some close ups of the mounts and braces would be extremely helpful. Thanx in advance.
One more thing, will self tapping screws work for laying the plywood and e-track on the floor of the cargo area? Or do I need something more heavy duty?

pellgrn

Expert Expediter
A couple years ago i found this place in Shipshewana I.N, There called ARI there number is 260 768 4704.

trhoades

Expert Expediter
Well, my biggest problem is keeping my costs down to a minimum until things take off. I am just starting out, so I would love to be able to have everything installed professionally, but I know I will need money for something on down the line. So I want to try to keep as much backup money in the bank right now as I can for enexpected expenses. I would like build at least a temp setup for now and then later when the outlook is brighter, maybe I'll get a company to build a permanent setup. Thank you for your input, and I'll at least give them a call to see about their prices.

JeffJensen

Moderator Emeritus
trhoades,

If you really want to go cheaply for now, you can try a variation of what I did many years ago on a cargo van.

For a bunk, I used a 70" long Contico pickup truck plastic tool box laid crosswise in the back. It was only 20" wide, but that can be fixed with lightweight plywood screwed into the top to extend the width by 6 or so inches overhang. Just cut the plywood at the hinge points of the box to allow the doors to open.