What's fair and equitable

cliff

Seasoned Expediter
Retired company OTR driver looking at driving straight truck. Why? I guess there's still some gypsy in me. Anyway, have been looking for about 8 months and would like a little insight as to what is the acceptable contract rate ($$ wise) for signing on with an owner. I see that 60/40 seems to pop up a lot but no mention of FSC percentages or who is responsible for repair/maintenance of the truck you drive.
As a company driver I received .40 cpm and that was it, they received the FSC, did maintenance and covered all fuel. My question is: "What would be fair and equitable for both owner and myself", to ask for? Without cleaning his pockets or mine. Or should I say; "a good starting point". Not interested, at this point, in becoming a O/O.
A little insight would be greatly appreciated, like I said; "I know very little about the negotiations part of this or where to start. Thank You and any suggestions or advice would be welcome

cheri1122

Veteran Expediter
Driver
60/40 means that whoever pays for fuel gets the higher %, but what the FSC actually is depends on the carrier - there are some with fixed rates, some with variable. I personally find it morally reprehensible to withold any portion of the FSC paid from the person who pays for fuel, but there are those who disagree - trust is a big factor here.
The owner is responsible for all maintenance items [fluids, replacement of belts, filters, lights, etc] and generally, for repairs. Most owners will charge the driver for repairs that they deem to be directly attributable to the driver's negligence, and that's reasonable - assuming the owner is reasonable, of course.
The driver is responsible for keeping the truck in good repair: doing what maintenance they are able [I change lights, but not belts], and seeing that needed work is done when it needs done.