What sprinter is better 2005 or 2008

William Williamson

Rookie Expediter
Owner/Operator
I am new to the sprinters and need to know which years have the least mechanical problems
I am looking at
2005 2500 170" with 145k miles it's a commercial interior with jump seat no electronics
2008 2500 170" with 134, k miles an electric interior with two seats (4,500.00 more)

The More details The better and will be taking more seriously than one liners

Thanks for any help

scottm4211

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
Generally the pre '07s are more reliable, they're certainly less complex. I'd stay away from that 05 though they were mainly used by DHL and other city delivery couriers. The 08 has a dpf which is a whole new ball game of potential problems

Reactions: OntarioVanMan

OntarioVanMan

Retired Expediter
Owner/Operator
I'd go with the 05....much better MPG and no partical filters to deal with...(05's are pre DEF's)

Editted to suppliment Scotts post.....try to know the vans history...

Treadmill

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
I'd go with the 05....much better MPG and no partical filters to deal with...(05's are pre DEF's)

Editted to suppliment Scotts post.....try to know the vans history...
Actually the 08 has no def on it. The def was not introduced until 2010. The dpf was introduced in 2007 and the def was introduced in 2010 with the dpf.

William Williamson

Rookie Expediter
Owner/Operator
Ok then that makes sense about maintenance (and it's yellow color so sure it's a DHL use ) the only reason I was looking at that unit was thinking less electronics less problems
and not sure about def, dpf
But it seems to me that I want a pre 2007
Especially spence it's a two hour drive to closest dealer

Turtle

Administrator
Staff member
Retired Expediter