what oil and filter

Charity's Van

Expert Expediter
Owner/Operator
I am new to having a gas promaster. I will be due for an oil change soon. what oil is everyone running in these vans. any filter you feel is best. how about oil additives, anyone using one. I like chevron gas and plan to use chevron techron additive in the fuel every 3k miles
I had the diesel promaster. i used baldwin filters for air and oil. i bought those at ww grainger for a great price. i used the pennzoil euro l oil. i used opti lube fuel additives. i had only transmission issues and averaged 24.2 mpg over 200k miles.

Last edited:

Turtle

Administrator
Staff member
Retired Expediter
The factory fill on Promasters is Pennzoil Platinum 5w20 full synthetic. There's really no reason to change that, since that oil was designed for that engine. If you want to use another brand, just make sure it meets Chrysler's MS spec and you should be OK. It's not like the old days where you could play around with oils and reason out what should and should not work. Today's engines require oils tightly toleranced. The engine uses oil to control the valve timing, lubricate the chain, cool the pistons, and particularly important, the oil pump is variable displacement, so it's very sensitive to oil weight and viscosity.

Oil additives are not recommended, because whatever you add will instantly take the oil out of the MS specs.
Chrysler MS-6395 is what you want.