What is a reasonable pay for an O/O of a under CDL 26' box truck ?

Andyinchville1

Expert Expediter
Owner/Operator
HI All,

I've done lots of car / mini van courier and delivery work but I am new to operating and attempting to do delivery work out of a 26' Under CDL box truck with lift gate.

I bought a box truck for an appliance delivery gig that seems to pay pretty well ($450 / Day for 12 stops average about 125 miles travel...requires driver and helper) but was looking for something a little easier (i.e. load once......drive...unload.... get paid....no helper expenses or problems) since so many things can go wrong with appliance delivery (worry about helper showing up, banging walls, damaging appliances, not hooking stuff up correctly etc...)

Normally for courier work (small vehicle...car / , mini van) I get paid $1.00 per loaded mile for expedited work through the company I work with.

What is a fair rate to get paid for a 26' under cdl box truck with lift gate?

One company I spoke with said they Pay $1.35 per loaded mile for expedited (which includes a fuel surcharge)....

Is that a reasonable amount to get paid?...Can a person be OK making that?....of course the more the merrier but realistically what do most people make per loaded mile using a vehicle similar to mine?

An amazon gig that I could also get pays $200 to $250 per day depending on the route.....they pay by the day but they were not very forthcoming with additional info other than you pick up at the warehouse and drop pkgs at several post offices and locations after that (supposedly about 150 to 200 miles of driving and it takes about 7 to 8 hours to do.

Any other ideas on how to make $$ with a truck like mine?