What happened to the preview?

Discussion in 'Web Site Support & Services' started by LDB, Mar 14, 2017.

  1. LDB

    LDB Veteran Expediter Retired Expediter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    16,145
    Trophy Points:
    755
    Ratings:
    +3,095 / 1 / -0
    Vehicle:
    Recliner
    What happened to scrolling over a thread title and getting the preview? Now it just says go to first unread post. Bummer.
     
  2. Turtle
    Approved

    Turtle Administrator Staff Member Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    23,224
    Trophy Points:
    1,285
    Ratings:
    +10,533 / 10 / -0
    Carrier:
    Load One
    Vehicle:
    2005 Sprinter
    If by "scrolling" you mean putting the mouse cursor over the thread title, mine still works.

    If you're using a laptop with a touch screen, there may be issues (with that, and with drop-down menus).
     
  3. LDB

    LDB Veteran Expediter Retired Expediter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    16,145
    Trophy Points:
    755
    Ratings:
    +3,095 / 1 / -0
    Vehicle:
    Recliner
    Yes, that's what I meant. I use a laptop that has a touch screen but with a mouse. I've restarted the system but no change. It just went away the other day and so far no change. Also, this thread didn't show up in the 'new posts' page and I think it used to show this forum as well.
     
  4. Turtle
    Approved

    Turtle Administrator Staff Member Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    23,224
    Trophy Points:
    1,285
    Ratings:
    +10,533 / 10 / -0
    Carrier:
    Load One
    Vehicle:
    2005 Sprinter
    This showed up in New Posts here.

    You might want to clear the cache and delete (only) the EO cookies in the browser.

    My laptop is also a touch screen. I had to go into Device Manager and disable the touch screen. When you hover the mouse over your name on the menu bar, the drop-down menu appears so you can change profile settings, etc. But that doesn't work if you have the touch screen enabled, because it's expecting you to touch-click for an action to happen. Same thing for the thread hover preview. With touch screen enabled, it thinks you're a tablet computer (because you are).

    You can disable/enable the touch screen in Device Manager at will, and the change is immediate.
     
  5. LDB

    LDB Veteran Expediter Retired Expediter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    16,145
    Trophy Points:
    755
    Ratings:
    +3,095 / 1 / -0
    Vehicle:
    Recliner
    Interesting because it did work until a few days ago but now I know something to look into. Thanks.
     
  6. Turtle
    Approved

    Turtle Administrator Staff Member Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    23,224
    Trophy Points:
    1,285
    Ratings:
    +10,533 / 10 / -0
    Carrier:
    Load One
    Vehicle:
    2005 Sprinter
    Let us know what happens.
     
  7. LDB

    LDB Veteran Expediter Retired Expediter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    16,145
    Trophy Points:
    755
    Ratings:
    +3,095 / 1 / -0
    Vehicle:
    Recliner
    Well, it was working until an hour or two ago. Nothing changed. Didn't turn the computer off. But now it's not working again. It's got to be the aliens.
     
Loading...

Share This Page