What expenses can be deducted?

cornerstone

Expert Expediter
I was an independent contractor in 2006 and I received 60% of the gross of the truck. I paid for fuel and tolls and the workers comp insurance. What can I deduct as far as the truck goes? Can I use the miles as a deduction? I also know I can take the $52 a day per diem.

Thanks.

MSinger

Expert Expediter
I drive a 10,000# GVWR cube van. I should be able to take the mileage deduction vs actual expenses. However on the per diem since I do not have to log can I still take the 75%?
Thanks

Fkatz

Veteran Expediter
Charter Member
I was an independent contractor in 2006 and I received 60% of the gross of the truck. I paid for fuel and tolls and the workers comp insurance. What can I deduct as far as the truck goes? Can I use the miles as a deduction? I also know I can take the $52 a day per diem.
Thanks.

Hi Cornerstone,

What can I deduct as far as the truck goes?

Send me a direct E-mail and I will attach a deductible listing of the items you can deduct

Can I use the miles as a deduction?

If you are in a Straight Truck or a Tractor/Trailor( NO )

You must take actual expenses like fuel, tolls, workmen comp, etc

Only if you are in a Cargo Van, or Pick-up or Corgo van with a 12-14 ft box then YES you can take the mileage deduction

And yes the per diem is $52.00 per day but only $39.00 of it is the actual deduction that you will recieve,

If your doing your own taxes, and using a over the counter software, make sure you find the correct information for SUBJECT TO DOT REGULATIONS AND ENTER THE FULL AMOUNT ON THE LINE, IT WILL AUTOMATICALLY CALCULATE THE 75% ALLOWANCE THAT YOU WILL RECIEVE.

IF you have any additional question please do not hesitate to ask,
or if you want more information you can e-mail me directly at [email protected]

Franklin Katz, ATP

Looney2

Seasoned Expediter