Van vs Straight Truck

eric907

Expert Expediter
What are the advantages and/or disadvantages in driving a van versus a straight truck? Is the income about the same?:)

G

Eric,
I've been running a sprinter for a few months and can already see where a small straight truck would have been a good move. I've missed several good paying loads either because I needed 2-3 extra feet or 1000-2000 extra lbs or my sprinter is not dock high. I've also been told that several of the big expediting companies arn't putting on any vans.

Having said that, I really like the sprinter and am getting enough business to keep me as busy as I want to be. It drives like a regular vehicle, I can park it at my house...you get the message.

I actually drive it around town when I am home. It gets better fuel milleage that anything I own.

So, after all my conflicting statements.

Choice is yours. Give and take with each one.

BigBusBob

Veteran Expediter
Driver
Eric, I'm not into the expediting industry yet, however am hoping that I soon will be. I've been on the big roads for 5 years now though, between trucks & busses. Something you want to ask yourself is how long do you plan on stayin' out for? Yes, A van is nice to keep in your drive way at the house. Yes, A van is nice to go around town in.
However, do you want to sleep in a 24 inch wide sleeping area, or do you want to sleep on a bed that is 30-32"+ wide? it makes a huge difference trust me.