Truck Driver Now Maybe Cargo Van?

demented

Active Expediter
Hi all. I've been a truck driver for fifteen years and I'm considering buying a cargo van and getting into expediting. What appeals to me is the freedoms it allows- from much of the DOT scrutiny, greater parking options (which is huge in my opinion), much lower expense costs, affordability of vehicle, etc. I've also always loved vans and I think I would even enjoy the process of setting it up. I once bought a bus and turned it into a camper and I think I would get a kick out of trying to set up a van in such a way to maximize cargo space.

My concerns, however, is the home time. Currently, as a truck driver living in St. Louis, I am able to get home every weekend. I would think that, living where I do, this would be achievable as an expeditor as well. Am I being naive? Is there not enough expedited freight to get though St. Louis every weekend?

As you can see, I'm still wet behind the ears in my research so any input would be greatly appreciated.

Dementedhumor

TeamCaffee

Administrator
Staff member
Owner/Operator
We live just north of Saint Louis and we can go three months without going through the city! Amazes me how often we miss it and just have to head for home.

As a solo I think you would be able to get home more often as you would probably have good loads in Chicago as well.

jjoerger

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
US Army
Very few expedite companies (if any) have directional dispatch. Getting home every weekend will be hard no matter where you live.

paullud

Veteran Expediter
Going through St. Louis would be rare. Have you looked at switching to a straight truck? It will give you increased parking opportunities.

Posted with my Droid EO Forum App

MCBuggyCo

Seasoned Expediter