Thinking about getting in to Expediting

CSXMike

Seasoned Expediter
Hey all!

I currently work as a Conductor for a freight railroad. But the layoffs and working on call constantly really have me thinking of other options... I have always wanted to buy my own truck and pretty much have my own business.. BUT I make fairly decent money at my current job and want to be sure if I decide to make this move that I wont take a huge hit in income.

Secondly I worry about going through all the work of getting a CDL and buying a truck to find that no carrier will hire me out due to lack of experiance in the trucking industry. Is it better to start small with a van or Sprinter before jumping into the big straight trucks?

I worked as a courier for FedEx Express for 5 years before going to work for the railroad.. I wonder if that would count for anything?

Turtle

Administrator
Staff member
Retired Expediter
First, you can get into expediting, with almost all of the carriers, in a cargo van or a straight truck with no experience. It's the tractor-trailers where experience is usually required.

Second, the only advantage to starting off with a van or Sprinter before jumping into a straight truck is that there is less money up front, and thus less risk, to get into the business. But with less risk comes less reward. A far better way to enter the industry is to drive a truck for a fleet owner for about a year. At that point you'll know what the industry is like and whether you want to continue with your own truck. But, while carriers will take on an owner/operator of a truck with no experience, not may fleet owners are quick to put someone with no experience in their trucks.