The "R Word", Going Green, Fuel Costs & Expediting

mypie

Seasoned Expediter
Hi Yall,

I'm not really a newbie - I'm more of a wannabie. Things like the declining economy (specifically the "R Word") being thrown about on a regular basis; "Going Green" and the environmental effects of burning fossil fuels; and basically increasing fuel costs are all issues that seem to be in the news daily and all seem to affect the Expediting Business.

I am inviting you to give your thoughts, opinoins and personal experiences of how this is affecting you.

Thanks guys.

cheri1122

Veteran Expediter
Driver
First: welcome to EO! (Hey, guys, I'm 'one of the guys', right?):D
Second: HELLO - have you been here long? Giving our thoughts, opinions, and ideas is what we DO here, with or without invitation, lol. Read for awhile, you'll see what I mean- and you'll see that EO offers much more than that, as well. Informative & interesting articles by Jeff Jensen, seminars for wannabees, (see the sticky at the top for details), the opportunity to meet lots of us at the MidAmericaTruckShow in Louisville (March), and an Expo all our own, in July. (My favorite!)
I won't waste any more time, you've got a LOT of reading to do!;)

Turtle

Administrator
Staff member
Retired Expediter
I am inviting you to give your thoughts, opinoins and personal experiences of how this is affecting you.

It's not.

Right now we have the top economists saying a recession is probably coming, if we're not already in one. Probably? If? Nothing like a firm commitment from the experts. Either it's coming or it ain't, and if we're in one already, they should know it already. Every time we've had a recession, nobody knew about it until we had been it it a year. And every time we've come out of one, no one knew about that, either, until a year or so later. The worst recession American has experienced since World War II was from November 1973 to March 1975 yet no one knew for sure that were were in a recession until 1976.