The Hino 338

Badmunky

Seasoned Expediter
First let me say hello to every one as I am new here.

I have been driving for almost 8 years and have been driving straight trucks for the last 1.5 of that. Be for that I was driving semis.

Now on to my post.

I have been driving Hino 338s sins I started driving straight trucks.
The truck I have now has a 6 speed and pulls 1900 Rpm at 60mph. Its an 08 2 axle with a dry weight of about 19k.
It has a 96" AA sleeper and a 22' box.
It currently has about 92k miles on it.
It is speed limited to 65mph and we normally only go 60mph.

The question I have is dose every one have the same problems I keep having?

List of things that keep braking or are not right:
1 Turbos keep failing. (On 3rd one)
2 Truck will not hold alignment to save its life!
3 Steer axle keeps blowing shocks. (On 2nd set and there blown)
4 Truck can not pull hill to save its life!
5 For not having any pull power it still only gets 8.5mpg MAX!
6 Burns oil. (About 1/2 gallon every oil change)
7 A/C water drain in dash plugs and water runs out from under dash when A/C has been running for a long time. (Done this 5 times now)
8 Do to alignment problems truck kills steer tires every 90-100k.
9 Shifter feels lose and cheap. Can make it hard to change gears.
10 Truck has to be forced in to 1st gear after a stop some times. (Clutch to the floor)
11 Brakes suck! They do not seam to have the stopping power needed.
12 Dash has lots of rattles in it.
13 Wind shield "Creaks" in seal when you go over uneven pavement.
14 Wind shield leaks at bottom. Water pushes under it at speed.
15 Power steering is inconsistent in its level of assist. (Some times almost none, others my cat can turn the wheel!)

Is it just me or are these truck crap?

Thanks

Last edited:

moose

Veteran Expediter
First let me say hello to every one as I am new here.

I have been driving for almost 8 years and have been driving straight trucks for the last 1.5 of that. Be for that I was driving semis.