Sprinter 4500 and Hazmat

chairborne

New Recruit
Owner/Operator
Good Afternoon,

Long story short - I went to CDL School, earned a Class A license and got tanker and hazmat endorsements. I went with the mindset to be an owner/operator of a semi, and have made up my mind I'm just not comfortable with the costs and risks associated with owing a class 8 truck and trailer. I've been working for myself for the last 5 years as a home inspector in FL - until the industry completely died with the fed interest rate hikes.

What I have thought about is possibly purchasing a Sprinter 4500 dual van with the high roof and extended wheel base and targeting hazmat loads. I realize there are specifications that have to be met with installing a bulk head and with this type of van/cargo I would be subjected to HOS, ELD, and weight stations. I'm in Tulsa, which provides access to a plethora of cities (and hopefully loads) within a 10 hour drive.

Anyone done anything like this? Best to play the load boards or lease onto a company like land star? I have no illusions of a 'get rich quick' scheme - just looking for decent pay and working for myself again.

Thanks!

danthewolf00

Veteran Expediter
Your going to want good high end straps and load locks to hold what will be chemicals in gallon pails up to those pallet tanks.
Make sure you prioritize load safety because it may save your life.

Turtle

Administrator
Staff member
Retired Expediter
While it's certainly safer to have a bulkhead than to not have one, anything that is prohibited from being carried in the cab of a truck (most poisons, inhalation hazards, etc.) is also prohibited from being carried in a cargo van, bulkhead or no bulkhead, as the entire van is the cab.

LDB

Veteran Expediter
Retired Expediter